Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

TMA's Outstanding Science Teacher Award
Texas Medical Association

September, 2015

Texas Medical Association is giving away $24,000 in CASH prizes!  Please help us to spread the word!  Three Texas science teachers will receive $5,000 each and an all-expense paid trip to TMA’s annual conference for the presentation ceremony in April 2016!  Their schools will receive a $2,000 award to use toward the science curriculum! In addition, second-place winners receive $1,000 for their schools!


Each year, TMA’s Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching recognizes and rewards schoolteachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels who share their energy and enthusiasm for science with their students.  We do this because innovative teaching supports the basic premise of medicine, that of healthcare having a scientific foundation.


Who’s eligible?  All Texas state-certified, full-time public and private school science teachers with a minimum of two years’ completed classroom experience who will return to teach during the 2016-17 school year are eligible.  All areas of science are welcome.


To nominate science teachers or to apply, visit our Web site at, where you will find more information and the appropriate forms.  The deadline for nominations is Oct. 26 and for applications is Dec. 18.  (All nominees will be contacted by TMA and asked to complete an application.) 


Together let’s make sure Texas science teachers are well represented!  Nominate or apply today!


Questions?  Contact Gail Schatte at TMA at (800) 880-1300, 1600, or (512) 370-1600, or


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst